In this article:

Collaboration board widgets

Here's the list of different widgets that are available in a collaboration board.

Selection tool:

The selection tool can be used to select and move widgets that are already on the board.

Hand tool:

The hand tool can be used to pan/move across the board in any direction.

Objective:

The Objective widget can be used to add a new objective.

To add an Objective,

  1. Click on the Objective icon from the toolbar.

  2. Add your Objective title

  3. Hit return or click outside to save your draft objective.


Key result:

The Key result widget can be used to add a new Key result.

To add a Key result,

  1. Click on the Key result icon from the toolbar.

  2. Add your Key result title

  3. Hit return or click outside to save your draft Key result.


Project:

The Projects widget can be used to add a new Project.

To add a Project,

  1. Click on the Project icon from the toolbar.

  2. Add your Project title

  3. Hit return or click outside to save your draft Project.

Actions you can perform on the Objective, Key Result, and Project widgets:

  • Rename: Hove over the objective title and click on the 'Edit' pencil icon to rename the title.


  • Edit: Select the draft objective/key result/project and click on the ‘Edit’ button to start editing.

  • Publish: Select the draft objective/key result/project and click on the ‘Publish’ button to publish the objective.


  • Duplicate: Duplicate will simply clone the widget and not copy over the title and other data.

    • To duplicate, select the draft objective/key result/project and click on the ‘More options’ menu.

    • Select ‘Duplicate’ from the list of options.


  • View: The View option will open the create objective/key result/project quick view right inside your collaboration board. You can click on View and start editing as well!

    • To view your draft objective/key result/project, select the widget and click on the ‘More options’ menu.

    • Select View from the list of options.


  • Align: Select an Objective/Key result or Project widget, click on the blue circle and connect it with the green dot on other (Objective/Key result/Project) widgets to align.


  • Delete: Select the draft objective/key result/project and click on the ‘More options’ menu. Click on ‘Delete’ from the list. Click on ‘Delete’ in the confirmation pop-up that follows.

Sticky note:

The notes widget can be used to add ideas while brainstorming together on a board.

To add a Sticky note,

  1. Click on the Sticky note icon in the toolbar and start typing.

  2. Once added, You can change the note color, change the font type (text, subheading, title) and make it bold, italic, or underline.


Convert Sticky note into Text, Objective, Key result, Project: Select the sticky note and click on the ‘Type’ dropdown menu. Choose Text, Objective, Key Result, or Project from the menu. This will convert the note into the chosen widget along with data. The first line in your Sticky note will become your Objective/Key Result/Project title and the rest of the data will be added in the description. If you’re converting a Sticky note into text, the existing data will be fully added to the Text widget.

Text:

The text widget can be used to add text, take notes anywhere on the board.

To add text,

  1. Click on the Text icon in the toolbar and start typing.

  2. Once added, You can change the text color, change the font type (text, subheading, title) and make it bold, italic, or underline.

Convert Text into Sticky note, Objective, Key result, Project: Select the text widget and click on the ‘Type’ dropdown menu. Choose Sticky note, Objective, Key Result, or Project from the menu. This will convert the text into the chosen widget along with the data. The first line of your text will become your Objective/Key Result/Project title and the rest of the data will be added to the description. If you’re converting Text into a Sticky note, the existing data will be fully added to the note.

Deleting a widget

  1. Select the widget you want to delete.

  2. Click on the ‘More options’ menu -> ‘Delete’.

How to create a Collaboration Board

Collaboration boards can be created across all levels (organization, team, and individual).

To create a collaboration board,

  1. Click on the entity (organization, team, individual) from the side navigation bar and go to the ‘Collaboration Boards’ tab.

  2. Click on ‘+ New Board’ to create a new board.

  3. Your board will be created with the name ‘Untitled board’ by default. Hover over the title and click on the 'Edit' icon to rename the board. Hit ‘Save’ once done! Alternatively, you can click on the at the top right and click on ‘Rename’ to rename the board.

Note: To view all the collaboration boards you’ve created and the boards that have been shared with you, navigate to ‘My OKRs’ in the side navigation bar and go to the ‘Collaboration Boards’ tab. You’ll see a list of all the boards that you’ve created and boards shared with you.

Who can create a board?

User Type

Org Level Collaboration Board (From Org OKRs Page)

Team Level Collaboration Board (From Team OKRs Page)

Individual Collaboration Board (From My OKRs Page)

Org Owner

Org Admin

Default: ❌

Can create only if the admin is a part of the team.

Team Owner

Default: ❌

Can create only if the team owner is also an org admin.

Team Admin

Default: ❌

Can create only if the team admin is also an org admin.

Individual User

  • All users will be able to create a collaboration board at the individual level (under the ‘My OKRs’ page)

  • Org Owners will be able to create collaboration boards at the organization and team level.

  • All Org Admins will be able to create collaboration boards at the organization level and can create team-level collab boards only for the teams they manage

  • Team Owners and Team Managers can create collaboration boards for the teams they’re managing.

Share Collaboration Board:

Once a collab board is created at the organization/team level, the board will be shared by default with all other org admins. Individual users will be able to view an organization or team-level collaboration board only if it's shared with them.

How to delete a Collaboration Board

You can delete a board from the list view.

  1. Navigate to the My OKRs page in the side navigation bar and go to the ‘Collaboration Boards’ tab. You’ll see a list of all the boards that you’ve created and boards shared with you.

  2. Click on the 'Delete' icon across a line item to delete that board.

  3. Click on ‘Yes, delete’ in the pop-up that follows. Once deleted, the board cannot be retrieved.

Note:

  1. The early access to Collaboration Boards is now available. Please reach out to [email protected] if you'd like to try this experience first hand.

  2. Collaboration Boards is available only in the Ally.io 'Enterprise' pricing plan.

Did this answer your question?