In this article:

  • Different modes of progress
  • How to switch between the modes?

Introduction to modes of progress

To help teams stay on track, and ensure they are spending time on tasks that really matter, it is important to make regular check-ins on objectives. Such check-ins go a long way in the regular review of OKRs, where you can identify issues proactively, and course correct if need be.

Engaging everyone with the company goals, and driving greater OKR adoption is a primary responsibility of the OKR champions and team managers. Better visibility into how the progress is updated will help them understand the user’s engagement.

Progress can be updated in three modes:

  • A check-in made by the objective owner
  • Roll up from the key results
  • Automatically through an integration

When you connect a key result to an integration, progress of the objective will be updated automatically based on the data fetched from the data source. However, in some cases, the data from the third-party system might not accurately reflect the progress made on the key result. In such cases, you can override the automated progress update, and make a check-in as you see fit. This check-in that you make manually, will not be overridden by the data from the integrated source until you change the progress mode back to automated. This will give you the much-needed control over progress updates to present accurate data during reviews.

How to switch between the modes?

Identifying the mode of progress

If your OKR is measuring progress by percent complete, it can be in one of the following three progress modes:

  • Manual: In this mode, the progress and status can only be changed by users making check-ins.
  • Automatic via rollup from children: In this mode, the progress and status will be updated as children update their progress and status. This is the default mode every OKR starts in.
  • Automatically from a data source: In this mode, progress will come from an integrated data source, and status updates will be based on the progress.

Note: If you measure OKRs by KPI metrics, the mode of rolling up progress automatically from children is not supported.

If you have Projects in Ally.io, you can check-in on these projects manually. When you switch to the automated mode, the progress will rollup from tasks beneath the projects — these tasks can either be added in Ally.io directly, or through an integration. To know more about the Projects integrations supported, read our article on Projects.

Switching between the different modes

Every time you make a check-in on the objective, you will be overriding the progress update that's either rolled up from the key results, or updated automatically through an integration. As soon as you check-in, you will notice the change in icon that is indicative of the mode of progress.

If an OKR that was in automated mode has been switched to manual, the automatic progress is being overridden by your manual check-in.

You can always switch back to previous progress mode to resume updating the progress automatically either from the key results or the connected data source. You can do this by starting another check-in and changing the mode, or by editing the OKR.

Check-in reminders in manual mode of progress

If you switch an OKR or a Project into the manual override mode, you will receive check-in reminders for it, as long as it stays in the manual mode. Once you revert it to the automatic mode, whether by rollup or from integration, you will no longer receive reminders to check-in.

Changing the progress mode


If the progress is rolled up automatically from the key results:

  • Click on the rollup icon > select the Check-in button.
  • Make a check-in as you see fit, and save it. You will notice the change in icon to represent the manual mode.
  • To switch back to the previous mode, click on the manual icon > select the Check-in button.
  • You will have the option to resume updating the progress from key results. Save this check-in.

If the progress is rolled up automatically through an integration:

  • Click on the integration icon > select the Check-in button.
  • Make a check-in as you see fit, and save it. You will notice the change in icon to represent the manual mode.
  • To switch back to the previous mode, click on the manual icon > select the Check-in button.
  • You will have the option to resume updating the progress through the connected data source. Save this check-in.

Did this answer your question?